top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurbhi Sinha

All We Need Is.... |thequiltproject|

After finalising my object as an inspiration to go ahead with I started to explore with embroidery stitches, some basic stitches like :


  • Cross Stitch

  • Stem Stitch

  • Satin Stitch

  • French Knots

  • Chain Stitch

  • Fish Bone Stitch

  • Flat Stitch

  • Long Short Stitch




Where there's hopethere's life. - Anne Frank

Thinking about this very famous quote is what lockdown is all about for me - Hope. Hope is a multifaceted human attribute. Typically categorised as a positive emotion, it often occurs during negative or uncertain circumstances. It is decidedly cognitive, yet has a unique affective quality that motivates us to pursue future outcomes. Like many other emotions, its experience is often beyond our control but sometimes it is a state we intentionally experience or try to do so.

Since the experience of hope motivates us to stay engaged with the possibility of a future positive outcome, even if the likelihood of that outcome is uncertain, I decided to maintain it as a positive emotion inside me to deal with all my negative emotions and the situation outside.


Hope is being able to see that there is light despite all of the darkness. - Desmond Tutu.

The use of shades of green and blue is inspired by the colour of my object, where I associate the green with the ray of hope, light, optimism, and new beginnings, while blue depicts the negative emotions of distress and gloominess.








61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page