top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurbhi Sinha

Final Composition |thequiltproject|

To begin with the idea of patchwork in front with contrasting shades but of the same hue as well as a whole-cloth stitch at the back, I selected three fabrics to work along with the nearest Pantone shades:

  • Dark Green Fabric is in glaze cotton material (old table cloth) = 1 meter

  • Printed Green Fabric is also cotton (leftover fabric) = less than 1 meter

  • Blue Fabric is an old cotton saree with border work for the back of the quilt = 6 meters




Then I created a digital layout by replicating my fabric colours as well as the print over it. According to the amount of fabric available with me, I decided to work with the chess pattern as I calculated each block to be 7.5 * 7.5 inches to cover 60 inches of width.



Also, as per the calculated area, there was a gap around the corners, so probably I'll have to cover it with some border as I have less green fabric.

Another reason for this blocked patch work in front and a whole- cloth piece at the back was to keep my focus on the overall embroidered patterns in Sashiko.



85 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page